June 2, 2020


Vajin Armstrong takes Southland victory

Vajin Armstrong

Vajin Armstrong of Christchurch, Buller marathon winner last year and second in last month’s Lydiard Legend marathon won the Southland Marathon in 2:34:19.

Southland Festival of Running Marathon and Half Marathon

INVERCARGILL – 19 October 2014
Granantan Boyle was second in 2:45:07 with Ricky Gutsell third in 2:49:20. Klaartje Van Schie of Nelson, third in last year’s Christchurch marathon and fifth at Rotorua in May was the first woman in 2:56:49 by clear margin over Holly Todd 3:20:02.

Jason Palmer of Dunedin followed up his Dunedin half marathon win last month with a PB by nearly a minute in 1:12:27 to win the half from Jack Beaumont 1:17:04 and Corey Mennell 1:20:31. Carole Shuttleworth won the women’s half in 1:24:52 with Debbie Telfer second in 1:36:00.

New Zealand secondary schools 1500m champion Jordan Rackham won the 10km in a PB 34:29. Jonah Smith was second in 35:19 with Liam Cullen third in 36:38. Hannah Miller won the women’s 10km in 41:19 from Ffion Muhl 44:30.

Speak Your Mind